|ESPN.com: Baseball||[Print without images]|
ST. LOUIS -- Atlanta Braves pitcher Ervin Santana has won an appeal of an official scoring call that didn't lower his ERA but saddled center fielder B.J. Upton with an error.
The ruling by Major League Baseball on Tuesday changed an RBI double by Matt Adams of the St. Louis Cardinals on May 16 to a sacrifice fly and an error. Upton recovered from a bad jump and got his glove on Adams' drive before dropping the ball in the first inning of a 5-2 loss.
Santana took his first loss after a 4-0 start with Atlanta in that game, allowing five runs in five innings.