Print and Go Back Others [Print without images]

Saturday, October 16, 2004
Bernhard and James wrap titles at Monterey

Associated Press

MONTEREY, Calif. -- Timo Bernhard and Ian James earned American Le Mans Series driving championships Saturday, and Johnny Herbert and Pierre Kaffer won the season-ending Audi Sports Car Championships event at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

The four-hour timed event started at 4 p.m. and finished in darkness and rain as a shower moved across the raceway in the last 30 minutes of the event.

Bernhard secured the GT class driving title when he and co-driver Jorg Bergmeister finished second in class in a Porsche, while James took the LMP2 crown when he and James Gue finished third in class in a Courage C65-AER.

Herbert and Kaffer took the overall race win in an Audi R8, taking the lead in the closing stages from the other Champion Racing entry driven by Marco Werner and JJ Lehto.

Ron Fellows and Johnny OConnell won the GTS class in a Chevrolet Corvette C5-R, while Romain Dumas and Marc Lieb took the GT class in a Porsche 911 GT3 RSR. Clint Field, Robin Liddell and Rick Sutherland won the LMP2 class in a Lola B2K/40-Judd.