Print and Go Back SRF [Print without images]

Friday, December 3, 2004
SRF: The Mavericks Surf Contest Returns for the 2004/2005 Season

Press Release

Half Moon Bay, California.— Building on a triumphant return last February, The Mavericks Surf Contes beckons the greatest big-wave surfers to compete on "the most dangerous wave in the world" again this winter season.

After a three year hiatus, the Contest returned with a vengeance to Half Moon Bay on February 27, 2004. Heralded as "the Super Bowl of big-wave surfing" by Sports Illustrated and the "Holy of Holies" by the San Francisco Chronicle, two million television broadcast viewers and 15,000 spectators witnessed the crowning of champion Darryl "Flea" Virostko. Mavericks and Contest Director Jeff Clark were also featured on ABC News Nightline and in Stacy Peralta's Sundance Film Festival-opening "Riding Giants," distributed in theatres world-wide by Sony Pictures Classics this past Summer.

This season, event organizers have set a December 1 through March 31 Waiting Period and summoned a coveted list of competitors including the dominant "Flea," 2003/2004 runner-up and Surfing Magazine editor Evan Slater, and big-wave legend Peter Mel, among other stand-outs. Commented Contest Director Jeff Clark, "After our success last season in bringing back this world-famous contest, we're looking to go even bigger this year. I think we'll see some enormous waves roll through this season, and we're ready to go—now we just wait for Mother Nature!"


1. Darryl "Flea" Virostko
2. Evan Slater
3. Peter Mel
4. Anthony Tashnick
5. Matt Ambrose
6. Grant Washburn
7. Calos Burle
8. Garrett McNamara
9. Kenny Collins
10. Rodrigo Resende
11. Shane Desmond
12. Josh Loya
13. Russell Smith
14. Eraldo Gueiros
15. Brock Little
16. Greg Long
17. Ryan Seelbach
18. Zack Wormhoundt
19. Mike Gerhardt
20. Randy Cone
21. Ross Clarke Jones
22. Tony Ray
23. Ion Banner
24. Shawn Rhodes


1. Shawn "Barney" Barron
2. Mike Brummet
3. Jake Wormhoundt
4. Danilo Couto
5. Kevin Vanderpool
6. Marcelo Ulyssea
7. Tyler Smith
8. Pato Teixeira
9. Ryan Augustine
10 Troy Virostko
11 Nacho Lopez
12 Grant Baker
13 Doug Young
14 Andy Campbell
15 Noah Johnson