Print and Go Back Women's College Basketball [Print without images]

Friday, April 1, 2005
Johnson beats out Pondexter, Latta, others

Associated Press

BATON ROUGE, La. -- LSU's Temeka Johnson won the 2005 Nancy Lierberman Award as the nation's top point guard, the school announced on Friday.

The award is given by the Rotary Club of Detroit.

Johnson helped guide LSU (33-2) to the program's second straight NCAA Final Four. She is averaging 10.3 points and is second in the nation with 7.7 assists per game entering the national semifinal game with Baylor on Sunday.

During the season, Johnson became the Southeastern Conference's all-time assist leader and ranks sixth in the NCAA history with 938 assists. She was also a first-team All-SEC selection.

The criteria for the award is the floor leadership, play-making and ball-handling skills that personified Hall of Famer Lieberman during her career. Sportswriters from across the country determined the award winner and finalists.

The four other finalists for the award were Jamie Carey (Texas), Kristin Haynie (Michigan State), Ivory Latta (North Carolina) and Cappie Pondexter (Rutgers).