Print and Go Back Boxing [Print without images]

Tuesday, May 30, 2006
Hall of Fame to honor 1976 U.S. boxing team

Associated Press

CANASTOTA, N.Y. -- The 2006 International Boxing Hall of Fame will host a 30-year reunion of the storied 1976 U.S. Olympic boxing team.

Led by Sugar Ray Leonard and Leon Spinks, the 1976 squad captured five gold medals, one silver and a bronze during the Games in Montreal.

Eight members of the team have confirmed their attendance at the hall's induction ceremony on June 11, executive director Edward Brophy said. In addition to Leonard and Spinks, others who will attend are fellow gold medalists Howard Davis Jr. and Leo Randolph, as well as silver medal winner Charles Mooney and team members Louis Curtis, Chuck Walker and Davey Armstrong.

This year's inductees include junior flyweights Michael Carbajal and Humberto "Chiquita" Gonzalez, late lightweight champion Edwin Rosario of Puerto Rico and boxing historian Hank Kaplan.