Print and Go Back Baseball [Print without images]

Friday, November 10, 2006
Red Sox LF Ramirez wins ninth Silver Slugger award

Associated Press

LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- Boston left fielder Manny Ramirez won his ninth Silver Slugger on Friday, while New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter and New York Mets center fielder Carlos Beltran were among 13 first-time winners.

2006 Silver Slugger Team

Selected by major league coaches and managers.
American League
1B Justin Morneau (1), Minnesota
2B Robinson Cano (1), New York
3B Joe Crede (1), Chicago
SS Derek Jeter (1), New York
OF Jermaine Dye (1), Chicago
OF Vladimir Guerrero (6), Los Angeles
OF Manny Ramirez (9), Boston
C Joe Mauer (1), Minnesota
DH David Ortiz (3), Boston
National League
1B Ryan Howard (1), Philadelphia
2B Chase Utley (1), Philadelphia
SS Jose Reyes (1), New York
OF Carlos Beltran (1), New York
OF Alfonso Soriano (4), Washington
OF Matt Holliday (1), Colorado
C Brian McCann (1), Atlanta
C Joe Mauer (1), Minnesota
P Carlos Zambrano (1), Chicago
Number of career awards in parentheses

Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano and Mets shortstop Jose Reyes also earned the honor, given to the top offensive performer at each position, for the first time.

Ramirez, who has won for eight straight seasons, is tied for third with Barry Larkin in career Silver Sluggers, trailing only Barry Bonds (12) and Mike Piazza (10).

Angels right fielder Vladimir Guerrero won for the sixth time and Boston designated David Ortiz earned his third, all in a row.

First-time winners in the AL included Minnesota first baseman Justin Morneau and catcher Joe Mauer, and Chicago White Sox third baseman Joe Crede and right fielder Jermaine Dye.

Washington left fielder Alfonso Soriano won his first NL Silver Slugger after winning three at second base in the AL. Florida's Miguel Cabrera won at third base after earning the honor as a left fielder last year.

NL first-time winners included Philadelphia first baseman Ryan Howard and second baseman Chase Utley, Colorado left fielder Matt Holliday, Atlanta catcher Brian McCann and Chicago Cubs pitcher Carlos Zambrano.

Beltran, Guerrero, Ortiz and Ramirez earned $100,000 bonuses, Zambrano $75,000, Holliday $50,000, and Crede and Dye $15,000 each. In addition, winning the award boosted Dye's 2007 salary by $250,000 to $7 million.

The awards are given annually by Hillerich & Bradsby Co., the maker of Louisville Slugger bats.