Print and Go Back Olympics [Print without images]

Monday, November 17, 2008
Phelps, Coughlin athletes of the year at annual USA Swimming banquet

Associated Press

NEW YORK -- Michael Phelps' record-setting performance in Beijing earned him three Golden Goggle Awards on Monday at USA Swimming's annual banquet.

Phelps won male athlete of the year, male race (for his come-from-behind win in the 100-meter butterfly) and relay performance with Garrett Weber-Gale, Cullen Jones and Jason Lezak in the 4x100 freestyle relay.

Natalie Coughlin won female athlete of the year after winning six Olympic medals.

Rebecca Soni won female race (200 breaststroke) and breakout performer.

Eric Shanteau, who qualified for the Olympics a week after being diagnosed with testicular cancer and went on to swim in Beijing, won the perseverance award. Phelps' coach, Bob Bowman, won coach of the year.