Print and Go Back SportsCenter [Print without images]

Thursday, January 15, 2009
Updated: February 2, 6:57 PM ET
Maryland's Mt. Rushmore of Sports


ESPN reviewed the submissions and discussions on your state/region's conversation page. The four figures on Maryland's Sports Rushmore are below:

Brooks Robinson (Baltimore Orioles) - The Hall of Famer is a 16-time Gold Glove winner and 15-time All-Star.

Cal Ripken Jr. (Aberdeen, Baltimore Orioles) - One of the best shortstops ever, the Hall of Famer played in a MLB record 2,632 consecutive games.

Michael Phelps (Baltimore) - The multi-decorated Olympian won a record eight gold medals at the 2008 Beijing Olympics and has set 32 swimming world records.

Johnny Unitas (Baltimore Colts) - Unitas is the Baltimore Colts' all-time leader in passing yards, passing touchdowns and wins by a quarterback. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1979.

Other standouts (even more nominees in conversation)

Raymond Berry (Baltimore Colts) - Retired with a then-record 631 receptions; member of the NFL's 75th Anniversary All-Time Team

Len Bias (Landover, Maryland Terrapins) - Two-time ACC Player of the Year; 2nd all-time leading scorer in Terrapins history

Juan Dixon (Baltimore, Maryland Terrapins) - Maryland's all-time leading scorer in men's basketball; 2002 ACC Player of the Year

Sugar Ray Leonard (Palmer Park) - Won five world titles in five classes during the 1980s; won gold medal at 1976 Olympics

Lenny Moore (Baltimore Colts) - 63 rush TD are the most in Colts history; 1975 Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee

David Robinson (United States Naval Academy) - Owns Navy records for points, rebounds, FT made & blocks; No. 1 pick in 1987 NBA Draft

Babe Ruth (Baltimore) - Baseball's greatest slugger hit 714 HR; charter member of Baseball Hall of Fame (1936)

Roger Staubach (United States Naval Academy) 1963 Heisman Trophy winner; 1985 Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee

Earl Weaver (Baltimore Orioles) - Orioles all-time leader with 1,480 managerial wins; led Orioles to 6 AL East titles, 4 AL Pennants, and 1970 World Championship

Gary Williams (Maryland Terrapins) - All-time winningest coach in Maryland history; led the Terps to their only men's basketball national championship in 2002

Morgan Wootten (Dematha Catholic High School) - All-time winningest head coach in high school basketball history accumulating a 1,274-192 record; 2000 Basketball Hall of Fame inductee

Other potential nominees: Boomer Esiason (Maryland Terrapins), Joe Gans (born in Baltimore), Ray Lewis (Baltimore Ravens), John Lucas (University of Maryland), Renaldo "Skeets" Nehemiah (Maryland Terrapins), Jim Palmer (Baltimore Orioles), Frank Robinson (Baltimore Orioles)