Print and Go Back NCAA baseball [Print without images]

Monday, June 8, 2009
Updated: June 13, 2:44 PM ET
CWS 2009: Conference chatter

The 2009 College World Series begins in Omaha. Here are some research notes to consider as we prepare for today's games at Rosenblatt Stadium:

ACC Men's National Titles

Title of data
Sport Number of Titles
Soccer 13
Basketball 11
Lacrosse 10
Football 5
Golf 4
Track & Field 3
Baseball 1

• Two of the eight teams at the CWS are from the ACC, which has only one national title in baseball -- by Wake Forest in 1955. The conference has had the CWS runner-up four times in the past 15 years, including North Carolina two of the past three years. (All four of Miami's national championships came before the Hurricanes joined the ACC.)

• The SEC is represented in Omaha for the 17th straight year (and 24 of the past 25). The conference has come up empty since LSU's last title in 2000 despite sending 15 teams to Omaha from 2001 through '08.

• Arizona State gives the Pac-10 a team in Omaha for a 13th straight year.

Teams Making CWS Debut

Since 2000
Year School W-L
'07 UC Irvine 2-2
'07 Louisville 1-2
'03 Missouri State 0-2
'01 Nebraska 0-2
'01 Tulane 1-2
'00 San Jose State 0-2
'00 UL Lafayette 2-2

• Virginia and Southern Miss both make their first trip to Omaha. This marks the second time in the past three years that two first-timers are in the field. In 2007, UC Irvine and Louisville both made their debuts, going a combined 3-4. No team has won the CWS in its debut since Minnesota in 1956, the 10th year of the event. The last team to make the championship game/series in its first appearance was Georgia Tech in 1994.