Print and Go Back ESPN.com: NFL [Print without images]

Friday, October 23, 2009
NFL says Browns didn't violate rules

Associated Press

BEREA, Ohio -- The NFL says the Cleveland Browns did not violate any league policies when rookie running back James Davis was injured during a recent practice.

The league reviewed video of the practice session and interviewed Browns players, coaches and team staff. It was determined Davis' season-ending shoulder injury took place in a controlled environment.

Browns coach Eric Mangini was comfortable that the team did not endanger James, who was reportedly struck by an unidentified linebacker during a post-practice "opportunity period." Earlier reports said James was not wearing any shoulder pads when he was hit by a player in full pads.

The Browns placed James on injured reserve on Oct. 3.