Tuesday, October 26, 2010
No extra discipline for Dustin Brown
By Dan Arritt
Special to ESPNLosAngeles.com
LOS ANGELES -- The Los Angeles Kings could breathe a little easier during their flight to Chicago on Tuesday. The team said first-line right wing and team captain Dustin Brown will not face additional discipline from the NHL for his check on Antti Miettinen of Minnesota on Monday night.
Brown was whistled midway through the second period for violating Rule 48.1, which forbids a lateral or blind-side hit to an opponent's head. Such penalties are subject to review by the league front office for supplementary discipline.
Brown checked Miettinen just as he took a shot from the slot. Miettinen was in a vulnerable position because he was bent at the waist in his follow through and didn't appear to see Brown approaching. However, he was not injured and participated on the ensuing power play.
Brown was ejected from the game and the team was forced to kill a five-minute major penalty, which it did. The Kings then went on to win, 3-2, in a shootout, earning their fifth victory in the last six games.
Brown made himself available to reporters after the game and vehemently denied striking Miettinen's head.
"If I had hit him in the head, he would probably be on the ice for a lot longer than he was," Brown said. "I think that was clean shot, from top to bottom."
According to the Kings, the league agreed, leaving Brown available to play against the defending Stanley Cup champion Chicago Blackhawks.
Dan Arritt covers the Kings in ESPNLosAngeles.com's Hockey blog.