Print and Go Back Action Sports [Print without images]

Sunday, May 6, 2012
Updated: May 8, 1:02 PM ET
Mirra, Lasek sign with Puma

By Brian Tunney

BMX legend Dave Mirra, as well as top skateboard vert competitor Bucky Lasek and reigning European Rallycross champion Sverre Isachsen have joined forces with sports lifestyle brand Puma for a new endorsement deal just prior to the start of the 2012 Global Rallycross Championship, which begins May 26 in Charlotte, N.C.

"Puma and Subaru's strong histories in motorsport and the brands' collective following across sport and lifestyle bring a new energy to Rallycross. The all-star, three-man driving team is captained by BMX legend and professional Rally athlete Dave Mirra," Puma announced in a press release.

Sverre Isachsen
Sverre Isachsen's 2012 Subaru WRX STI rally cars displays the zombie cat paint scheme for the new Subaru Puma RallyCross Team.

"Stoked to be part of the new Subaru Puma Rallycross team," said Mirra, a member of the Subaru Rally team in the United States and owner of Mirraco Bikes. Mirra left DC Shoes in January and hinted that a new deal was in the works. But he has kept a low profile on the BMX scene for most of the year. He now joins a respected list of former Puma-sponsored BMX pros that includes Troy McMurray, Mark "The Gonz" Gonzalez and many former members of the S&M and KHE Bicycles teams in the late 1990s.

Mirra's signing with Puma is a not implicitly a BMX endorsement deal, but will most likely carry over into any future BMX endeavors Mirra undertakes.

"Mirra and the team will sport official fireproof Puma racing suits emblazoned with Zombie Cat graphics and a new performance racing shoe called the PRX Subaru. Puma will be releasing lifestyle footwear, tees and accessories inspired by the team and rally cars beginning in June," Puma stated.

Lasek left Vans in December 2011 and has been without a shoe sponsor in the time since. Via Facebook, he made the following announcement: "I'm joining Dave Mirra on the newly formed Subaru Puma RallyCross team. Get a taste for what's in store for the 2012 Global Rallycross Championship season."

The six-round 2012 Global RallyCross Championships kick off May 26 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. The Global RallyCross Championship combines the best aspects of circuit racing, off-road racing and rally competition to deliver intense action in a variety of fan-friendly environments.

Bucky Lasek, Dave Mirra, Sverre Isachsen
Subaru Puma's, from left, Bucky Lasek, Dave Mirra and Sverre Isachsen are shown with their new Global RallyCross Championships cars.