Print and Go Back Surfing [Print without images]

Thursday, June 21, 2012
Surfing Walk of Fame adds names

By ESPN Action Sports

Shaper Dick Brewer, who was instrumental in designing boards to fit inside the tube at Pipeline, will be added to the 2012 Surfing Walk of Fame.

In August, seven surfers will be added to the 2012 Surfing Walk of Fame. The new inductees were selected by a panel of surf industry veterans, former pros and surf journalists.

"The Surfing Walk of Fame board of directors is very excited with this year's voter-selected honorees for the 2012 induction," said Don MacAllister, SWoF Chairman of the Board. "For the past 19 years, we mail ballots throughout the world and gather votes to make our selection."

The honorees include Hawaiian legend Michael Ho, who won the Pipeline Masters five times and the Triple Crown twice, the late Michael Peterson, winner of the first-ever pro tour contest, and surfboard shaper Dick Brewer.

Surf forecasting pioneer Sean Collins, who founded the popular website and passed away in December, will be given the surf culture award.

Alisa Schwarzstein-Cairns will be given the woman of the year award -- she won a world amateur title at age 15, then was named ASP Rookie of the Year and remained in the ASP top eight for four years.

Michael Ho is getting the honor of Surf Champion.

George Draper, founder of George's Surf Shop in Huntington Beach, will be given the local hero award and middle school surf coach Stacy Wood gets the honor roll category.

The names of this year's recipients will be cemented alongside past inductees in the pavement on the corner of California's Pacific Coast Highway and Main Street in Huntington Beach, Calif.

This year's honorary induction ceremony will take place during the U.S. Open of Surfing in Huntington Beach on August 2.

Past recipients of the Surfing Walk of Fame honors include Duke Kahanamoku, Kelly Slater, Lisa Anderson, Tom Curren, Bruce Brown, Eddie Aikau and more.