Print and Go Back FMX [Print without images]

Sunday, September 30, 2012
Nagl leads Germany to 1st MXoN title news services

Maximilian Nagl, Marcus Schiffer, Ken Roczen, Motocross of Nations
Germany riders, from left, Maximilian Nagl, Marcus Schiffer and Ken Roczen celebrate their Motocross of Nations victory Sunday.

Ken Roczen, Max Nagl and Marcus Schiffer led Germany to its first championship in the Motocross of Nations on Sunday in Lommel, Belgium.

Germany's victory in the 66th annual event ended Team USA's seven-year winning streak as U.S. riders Ryan Dungey, Blake Baggett and Justin Barcia had difficulty in the deep sand of the Belgian course.

The U.S. team made a charge Sunday but it wasn't enough as it finished third after ranking seventh after Saturday's qualifying round. Belgium finished second.

Tony Cairoli of Italy won Race 1 of the MX1/MX2 event, followed by Gautier Paulin of France in second and Nagl in third. Dungey finished seventh.

Jeffrey Herlings of the Netherlands won Race 2 in the MX2 open, Tanel Leok of Estonia was second and Ken de Dycker of Belgium was third. Baggett was sixth.

Cairoli also won Race 3 in the MX1 open event, with Herlings second and Barcia getting third for the U.S. team's best result of the day.