Print and Go Back Surfing [Print without images]

Monday, October 1, 2012
Women's Tour surfers announced

ESPN Action Sports

Sage Erickson
Sage Erickson kept her spot on tour for 2013 with qualifying points.

The Women's ASP World Tour finished in August with the Nike US Open. There has not been a Women's Hawaiian Triple Crown for the past two years. And now the qualifying season has ended as well, confirming the 17 females who will surf the 2013 World Tour.

Stephanie Gilmore won the 2012 crown in France in the summer, regaining the title from 2011 champ Carissa Moore. The season included some amazing showdowns that have set up interesting rivalries for the coming season. The top 10 finishers from the Women's World Tour have known they had their spots secured now for two months. But the last six have now shaken out with the conclusion of the SATA Airlines Azores Pro.

Among the new crop of surfers, there is really only one "new" face, and that is Bianca Buitendag, 19, of Victoria Bay, South Africa. A Roxy team rider, she has numerous South African national titles under her belt and won the ASP 2011 World Junior Championships.

The rest of the ladies have all requalified from past stints on tour. Sage Erickson, 22, won the Azores Pro to keep her slot. Pauline Ado, Rebecca Woods and 2004 World Champ Sofia Mulanovich didn't have the best seasons on tour in 2012, but were able to salvage their slots through results in the six stars. Alana Blanchard also earned her spot after falling off for a year.

Silvana Lima, 27, who surfed the tour for seven years, finishing runner up in 2008 and 2009, will have to requalify.

There is still one wildcard spot to be determined by the ASP. The women will not compete again until the Roxy Pro Gold Coast in February 2013.

- Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
- Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
- Carissa Moore (HAW)
- Tyler Wright (AUS)
- Courtney Conlogue (USA)
- Malia Manuel (HAW)
- Lakey Peterson (USA)
- Laura Enever (AUS)
- Coco Ho (HAW)
- Paige Hareb (NZL)

- Sage Erickson (USA)
- Bianca Buitentag (ZAF)
- Pauline Ado (FRA)
- Rebecca Woods (AUS)
- Alana Blanchard (HAW)
- Sofia Mulanovich (PER)