Print and Go Back HoopGurlz [Print without images]

Tuesday, March 12, 2013
Georgia stars named Morgan Wootten finalists

By espnW

Morgan Wootten finalist Linnae Harper averaged 25 points and nearly 10 rebounds for Whitney Young (Chicago).

Its a class for the ages in Georgia.

The six finalists for the Morgan Wootten Player of the Year were announced on Tuesday, and half of them reside within the Peach States borders.

Kaela Davis of Buford, a Georgia Tech commit and the No. 2 prospect in the espnW HoopGurlz Top 100 for the 2013 class; Diamond DeShields of Norcross, a North Carolina commit and the No. 3 prospect in the 2013 class; and Lexie Brown of North Gwinnett, a Maryland commit and the No. 15 prospect, all are looking to cap their senior seasons with one final honor.

They join Linnae Harper of Whitney Young (Chicago), a Kentucky commit; Taya Reimer of Hamilton Southeastern (Indianapolis), a Notre Dame commit; and Mercedes Russell of Springfield (Ore.), a Tennessee commit as finalists for the award. The winner will be announced on March 18.

DeShields was named the 2013 Naismith Girls High School Player of the Year last month and then went on to lead Norcross to a state championship last week.

Past winners of the Morgan Wootten Player of the Year award include Candace Parker (2004), Elizabeth Williams (2011) and Breanna Stewart (2012).