Oklahoma's Mt. Rushmore of Sports

ESPN reviewed the submissions and discussions on your state/region's conversation page. The four figures on Oklahoma's Sports Rushmore are below:

Mickey Mantle (Spavinaw) -
The Hall of Famer was the 1956 Triple Crown winner and a three-time AL MVP. Mantle finished his career with 536 home runs and seven World Series titles.

Barry Sanders (Oklahoma State Cowboys) -
The electrifying Hall of Famer was the 1988 Heisman Trophy winner. Sanders set NCAA single season records with 2,628 Rush yds and 37 rushing touchdowns.

Barry Switzer (Oklahoma Sooners) -
The winningest coach in Oklahoma history won three National Championships and 12 Conference titles.

Jim Thorpe (Keokuk Falls) -
The multi-faceted Thorpe was a two-time gold medalis, Pro Football Hall of Famer and he played 6 years in MLB.

Other standouts (even more nominees in conversation)

Johnny Bench (Binger)
- 1968 NL Rookie of the Year, 2-time MVP, won 2 World Series

Steve Largent (Tulsa, Tulsa Golden Hurricane)
- All-American at Tulsa, Pro Football Hall of Famer, represented OK in U.S. House

Steve Owens (Miami, Oklahoma Sooners)
- 3-sport high school star, 1969 Heisman Trophy winner

Lee Roy Selmon (Eufala, Oklahoma Sooners)
- 1975 Lombardi and Outland award winner, Pro Football Hall of Famer

Billy Sims (Oklahoma Sooners)
- 1978 Heisman Trophy winner, led Sooners to 2 Orange Bowl victories

John Smith (Del City, Oklahoma State Cowboys)
- 6-time World Champion including 2 Gold Medals in Freestyle Wrestling and 2-time NCAA Champion at OK State; Coached OK State to 5 National Titles

Bob Stoops (Oklahoma Sooners)
- Led OKLA to 109 wins in 10 seasons, 6 Big XII titles, 2000 National Championship

Eddie Sutton (Oklahoma State Cowboys)
- Led Cowboys to 13 NCAA Tournaments and 2 Final Fours, court named after him

Wayman Tisdale (Tulsa, Oklahoma Sooners)
- 3-time All-American (1983-85), leading rebounder on 1984 gold medal-winning U.S. team

Bud Wilkinson (Oklahoma Sooners)
- 178 wins in 17 seasons, 14 Conference titles (or share of), 3 National titles

Other potential nominees: Joe Carter (Oklahoma City), Paul and Lloyd Waner (Harrah), Alvan Adams (Oklahoma City, Oklahoma Sooners), Carl Hubbell (Meeker), Bob Tway (Edmond, Oklahoma State Cowboys), Billy Vessels (Cleveland, OK, Oklahoma Sooners)