Arizona's Mt. Rushmore of Sports

ESPN reviewed the submissions and discussions on your state/region's conversation page. The four figures on Arizona's Sports Rushmore are below:

Lute Olson (Arizona Wildcats) -
While at Arizona he won 589 games, went to four Final Fours and won the 1997 National Title.

Pat Tillman (Arizona State Sun Devils, Arizona Cardinals) -
The 1997 Pac-10 Defensive player of the year played four seasons with Arizona before joining the military and tragically dying in Afghanistan.

Luis Gonzalez (Arizona Diamondbacks) -
His walk-off single in Game 7 of the 2001 World Series won the series for the Diamondbacks. He's the franchise leader in batting average, home runs and RBIs.

Jerry Colangelo (Arizona Diamondbacks/Phoenix Suns) -
He's overseen the Suns since 1968 and brought baseball to Phoenix and won a World Series in 2001.

Other standouts (even more nominees in conversation)

Sean Elliott (Tucson/Arizona Wildcats)
– Scored 2,555 points while at Arizona, scored 10,544 points in 12-year NBA career

Cotton Fitzsimmons (Phoenix Suns)
- 20-year NBA coaching career included 3 stints w/ PHX, architect of late 80's-90's Suns

Aeneas Williams (Arizona Cardinals)
- Intercepted 46 passes in 10 years with Cardinals, 6-time Pro Bowler

Charles Barkley (Phoenix Suns)
– 1992-93 NBA MVP with Suns; inducted into Basketball Hall of Fame in 2006

Connie Hawkins (Phoenix Suns)
– 20.5 PPG in 5 seasons with Suns; first Sun inducted to Hall of Fame (1992)

Steve Nash (Phoenix Suns)
- 2-time NBA MVP (2004-05, 2005-06), 4-time All-Star with Suns

Phil Mickelson (Arizona State)
– Won NCAA Championship in 1989, 1990, 1992; 3-time Major winner on PGA Tour

Jim Palmer (Scottsdale)
– 20-game winner eight times in nine years between 1970-1978; 3-time Cy Young winner

Randy Johnson (Arizona Diamondbacks)
– Went 103-49 w/ Diamondbacks; won 4 Cy Young awards; co-World Series MVP in '01

Curt Schilling (Phoenix/Arizona Diamondbacks)
– 58-28 with D-backs and co-MVP in World Series; 4-0 with 1.12 ERA in 2001 postseason

Jim Brock (Arizona State Sun Devils)
- Led the Sun Devils to 1,100 wins, 13 CWS app. and 2 Nat'l Champ. (1977 and 1981)

Other potential nominees: Barry Bonds (Arizona State), Charlie Hickcox (Phoenix), Michelle Mitchell (Phoenix/Arizona Wildcats), Danny White (Mesa/Arizona State Sun Devils), Jake Plummer (Arizona State/Arizona Cardinals), Walter Davis (Phoenix Suns)