Minnesota's Mt. Rushmore of Sports

ESPN reviewed the submissions and discussions on your state/region's conversation page. The four figures on Minnesota's Sports Rushmore are below:

Harmon Killebrew (Minnesota Twins) -
The 10-time All-Star led the AL in home runs six times while with Twins.

Kirby Puckett (Minnesota Twins) -
He spent his entire 12-year career with the Twins and was an integral member of the 1987 and 1991 World Series championship teams.

Herb Brooks (St. Paul, Minnesota Gophers) -
The head coach of the 1980 Miracle on Ice team, Brooks won three National Titles as the coach of the University of Minnesota.

Bud Grant -
The winningest coach in Vikings history, Grant played three sports at the University of Minnesota. He's in the Canadian Football Hall of Fame and the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Other standouts (even more nominees in conversation)

Neal Broten (Roseau, Minnesota Gophers, Minnesota North Stars)
- Led Minnesota to 1979 NCAA Championship; also played on 1980 Olympic team

Rod Carew (Minnesota Twins)
- Made All-Star team in all 12 seasons with Twins

Carl Eller (Minnesota Gophers, Minnesota Vikings)
- Hall-of-Famer played on all four Vikings Super Bowl teams

John Gagliardi (St. Johns)
- Head football coach at St. Johns (D-III school) since 1953; winningest coach in NCAA history

Kevin Garnett (Minnesota Timberwolves)
- Timberwolves career leader in nearly every statistical category

John Mayasich (Eveleth, Minnesota Gophers)
- Gophers' all-time leading scorer (144 goals); Crediting with inventing the slapshot

Kevin McHale (Hibbing, Minnesota Gophers, Minnesota Timberwolves)
- Basketball Hall-of-Famer and current Timberwolves head coach

George Mikan (Minneapolis Lakers)
- NBA's first "big man"; Won 7 BAA and NBA championships (5 in NBA with Lakers)

Paul Molitor (Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, Minnesota Twins)
- Collected 3,000th hit with Twins in 1995

Jack Morris (St. Paul, Minnesota Twins)
- St. Paul native, led Twins to 1991 World Series title

Bronko Nagurski (Minnesota Gophers)
- Consensus All-American defensive tackle in 1929; Hall-of-Fame running back for Bears

Alan Page (Minnesota Vikings)
- Hall-of-Famer played in four Super Bowls with Vikings; current Associate Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court

Bruce Smith (Minnesota Gophers)
- 1941 Heisman Trophy winner led Minnesota to National Titles in 1940 and 1941

Fran Tarkenton (Minnesota Vikings)
- Hall-of-Famer led Vikings to three Super Bowls

Dave Winfield (St. Paul, Minnesota Gophers, Minnesota Twins)
- Baseball Hall-of-Famer played baseball and basketball at Minnesota; drafted by Vikings

Other potential nominees: Kent Hrbek, John Mariucci