Big 12 votes to waive transfer rule for Baylor players

Updated: August 26, 2003, 11:26 AM ET

WACO, Texas - The Big 12 Conference Council of Faculty Athletics voted Monday to waive the intraconference transfer rule for Baylor men's basketball players.

The waiver allows the student-athletes to transfer to another Big 12 school without the loss of a season of eligibility.

The vote comes in the wake of alleged murder, cover-ups and a mass exodus at the school.

"The Council was careful to clarify in its vote that the action was based upon the unique circumstances presented in the Baylor situation," said Big 12 commissioner Kevin Weiberg.

With the fallout from the scandal-filled tenure of Dave Bliss still being sorted out, Baylor named Valparaiso's Scott Drew as its new coach last Friday.

Bliss resigned August 8 after former player Carlton Dotson was charged with murder in the death of former teammate and roommate Patrick Dennehy.

It later was revealed that Bliss attempted to orchestrate a cover-up within the basketball program to portray Dennehy as a drug dealer in an effort to distance the coach from an investigation surrounding illegal tuition payments to Dennehy.

Another player, R.T. Guinn, alleges that Bliss instructed him to lie to investigators.

Since Baylor banned itself from the postseason over the next two years and the NCAA granted an exemption to the rule calling for transfers to sit out a season, three players have switched schools.

Preseason Wooden Award candidate Lawrence Roberts went to Mississippi State and Kenny Taylor has said he will go to Texas.

Drew's biggest problem might be finding enough players, especially if others decide to transfer in the face of a two-year probationary period.

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index