MSU's Kane Ioane, Montana's Tim Bush on Buchanan Watch lists

Updated: August 25, 2003, 8:46 PM ET

PHILADELPHIA -- Montana State safety Kane Ioane and Montana defensive end Tim Bush are on The Sports Network initial "Buchanan Watch" list.

The Buck Buchanan Award is given to the top defensive player in NCAA Division I-AA football.

Ioane, a Billings Skyview graduate, was a second-team All-American for the Bobcats last season. He led the Big Sky with 127 tackles and had four interceptions last season in earning all-conference honors.

Tim Bush is from Kellogg, Idaho. He has 25 career sacks at Montana and led the league in sacks last year in earning all-conference honors.

Idaho State defensive end Jared Allen is also a Buchanan Watch candidate.

The Buchanan and Payton watch lists will be updated on Oct. 1, Oct. 29 and again just before the ballots on distributed on Nov. 24. The awards, along with Eddie Robinson Award, which goes to the I-AA's top coach, will be given Dec. 18 in Chattanooga, Tenn., on the eve of the I-AA national championship game.

The Sports Network has also released its Payton Watch list of candidates who are being considered as the top offensive player in NCAA Division I-AA.

Portland State quarterback Ryan Fuqua and Maine quarterback Marcus Williams are on that list.

------= ^Payton Watch Candidates=

Muhammad Abdulqaadir, rb, Southern Illinois

Jermaine Austin, rb, Georgia Southern

Casey Cramer, te, Dartmouth

Tramon Douglas, wr, Grambling State

Bruce Eugene, qb, Grambling State

Ryan Fuqua, rb, Portland State

Gary Jones, rb, Albany

Russ Michna, qb, Western Illinois

Robert Kent, qb, Jackson State

Rich Musinski, wr, William & Mary

Andre Raymond, rb, Eastern Illinois

Allen Suber, qb, Bethune-Cookman

Jack Tomco, qb, Southeast Missouri

Kirwin Watson, rb, Fordham

Chaz Williams, qb, Georgia Southern

Marcus Williams, rb, Maine< ^Buchanan Watch Candidates=

Jared Allen, de, Idaho State

Dante Balestracci, lb, Harvard

LevyBrown, s, Florida A&M

Tim Bush, de, Montana

Liam Ezekiel, lb, Northeastern

Boomer Grigsby, lb, Illinois State

Isaac Hilton, de, Hampton

Kane Ioane, s, Montana State

Alexis Moreland, s, Southern Illinois

Nick Ricks, lb, Eastern Illinois

Roderick Royal, lb, McNeese State

Lee Russell, lb, Western Illinois

K.T. Stovall, de, Appalachian State

Charles Thompson, cb, Nicholls State

Tony Tiller, cb, East Tennessee State

Renauld Williams, lb, Hofstra

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index