Maxwell Award Winners

Updated: December 12, 2013, 9:33 PM ET
Associated Press

Winners of the Maxwell Award for the outstanding collegiate player, presented by the Maxwell Memorial Football Club of Philadelphia:

2013-AJ McCarron, Alabama

2012-Manti Te'o, Notre Dame

2011-Andrew Luck, Stanford, QB

2010-Cam Newton, Auburn, QB

2009-Colt McCoy, Texas, QB

2008-Tim Tebow, Florida, QB

2007-Tim Tebow, Florida, QB

2006-Brady Quinn, Notre Dame, QB

2005-Vince Young, Texas, QB

2004-Jason White, Oklahoma, QB

2003-Eli Manning, Mississippi, QB

2002-Larry Johnson, Penn State, TB

2001-Ken Dorsey, Miami, QB

2000-Drew Brees, Purdue, QB

1999-Ron Dayne, Wisconsin, RB

1998-Ricky Williams, Texas, RB

1997-Peyton Manning, Tennessee, QB

1996-Danny Wuerffel, Florida, QB

1995-Eddie George, Ohio State, RB

1994-Kerry Collins, Penn State, QB

1993-Charlie Ward, Florida State, QB

1992-Gino Torretta, Miami, Fla., QB

1991-Desmond Howard, Michigan, WR

1990-Ty Detmer, Brigham Young, QB

1989-Anthony Thompson, Indiana, RB

1988-Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State, RB

1987-Don McPherson, Syracuse, QB

1986-Vinny Testaverde, Miami, QB

1985-Chuck Long, Iowa, QB

1984-Doug Flutie, Boston College, QB

1983-Mike Rozier, Nebraska, RB

1982-Herschel Walker, Georgia, RB

1981-Marcus Allen, Southern Cal, RB

1980-Hugh Green, Pittsburgh, DE

1979-Charles White, Southern Cal, RB

1978-Chuck Fusina, Penn State, QB

1977-Ross Browner, Notre Dame, DE

1976-Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh, RB

1975-Archie Griffin, Ohio State, RB

1974-Steve Joachim, Temple, QB

1973-John Cappelletti, Penn State, RB

1972-Brad Van Pelt, Michigan State, LB

1971-Ed Marinaro, Cornell, RB

1970-Jim Plunkett, Stanford, QB

1969-Mike Reid, Penn State, DT

1968-O.J. Simpson, Southern Cal, RB

1967-Gary Beban, UCLA, QB

1966-Jim Lynch, Notre Dame, LB

1965-Tommy Nobis, Texas, LB

1964-Glenn Ressler, Penn State, OG

1963-Roger Staubach, Navy, QB

1962-Terry Baker, Oregon State, QB

1961-Bob Ferguson, Ohio State, RB

1960-Joe Bellino, Navy, RB

1959-Richie Lucas, Penn State, QB

1958-Pete Dawkins, Army, RB

1957-Bob Reifsnyder, Navy, C

1956-Tommy McDonald, Oklahoma, HB

1955-Howard "Hopalong" Cassady, Ohio State, HB

1954-Ron Beagle, Navy, E

1953-Johnny Lattner, Notre Dame, QB

1952-Johnny Lattner, Notre Dame, QB

1951-Dick Kazmaier, Princeton, RB

1950-Francis "Reds" Bagnell, Penn, HB

1949-Leon Hart, Notre Dame, E

1948-Chuck Bednarik, Penn, C-LB

1947-Doak Walker, So. Methodist, HB

1946-Charlie Trippi, Georgia, HB

1945-Felix "Doc" Blanchard, Army, FB

1944-Glenn Davis, Army, HB

1943-Bob Odell, Penn, HB

1942-Paul Governali, Columbia, QB

1941-Bill Dudley, Virginia, HB

1940-Tom Harmon, Michigan, HB

1939-Nile Kinnick, Iowa, HB

1938-Davey O'Brien, Texas Christian, QB

1937-Clint Frank, Yale, HB

Copyright 2013 by The Associated Press

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index



Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.