ESPYS record within reach

John Buckle/Pool/Getty Images

Serena Williams and Monica Seles (1993) are the only tennis players who have won best female athlete at the ESPYS.

Tonight at the ESPYS (ESPN, 9 ET), Serena Williams looks to become the first three-time winner of the best female athlete award. Williams, who has won 16 Grand Slam singles titles in her career, already has won seven career ESPYS, including five for best female tennis player. Gymnast Gabby Douglas, swimmer Missy Franklin and basketball player Brittney Griner are the other nominees for best female athlete. Williams, who is one of three nominees for best female tennis player – along with Maria Sharapova and Victoria Azarenka -- can also become the most decorated woman in ESPNYS history. Former golfer Annika Sorenstam, who was named best female golfer six times and best female athlete twice, is the current record-holder with eight. Besides Sorenstam (2005-06) and Williams (2002-03), skier Lindsey Vonn (2010-11) and soccer player Mia Hamm (1998 and 2000) also have won the best female athlete award twice.

Tell us what you think!

We need your feedback to continue to make great - please take a few minutes to share your thoughts. Just click the link below to get started.

Take the survey »

As a thank you for your participation, you will be entered into a drawing for a chance to win a $100 American Express gift card. These rules apply.

Thanks for visiting today.