Last leg of first NWSL season

John Rieger/FC Kansas City

NWSL rookie of the year Erika Tymrak, who had six goals and four assists in her first pro season, will try to lead FC Kansas City by the Portland Thorns in Saturday's semifinal.

The first postseason in National Women’s Soccer League history opens Saturday, and it features the only four teams in the league that have won more games than they’ve lost. Alex Morgan , Christine Sinclair and the third-seeded Portland Thorns (11-6-5) visit second-seeded FC Kansas City (11-6-5) at 2 p.m. Kansas City features rookie of the year Erika Tymrak, defender of the year Becky Sauerbrunn and goalkeeper of the year Nicole Barnhart, as well as midfielder Lauren Holiday, who won the Golden Boot after leading the league in goals scored with 12. The top-seeded Western New York Flash (10-4-8) and Abby Wambach host Sky Blue FC (10-6-6) and Christie Rampone at 8 p.m. The championship game will be held Aug. 31 at 8 p.m.

Tell us what you think!

We need your feedback to continue to make great - please take a few minutes to share your thoughts. Just click the link below to get started.

Take the survey »

As a thank you for your participation, you will be entered into a drawing for a chance to win a $100 American Express gift card. These rules apply.

Thanks for visiting today.