One-hit wonders at Open

Cynthia Lum/Getty Images

Svetlana Kuznetsova, the 2004 US Open champion who is seeded 27th this year, plays American Mallory Burdette in the first round.

It’s Day 1 at the U.S. Open in Flushing Meadows, N.Y., and we’re saluting the tournament’s one-hit wonders – the nine women who have won the Open singles title a single time in the Open era. Sam Stosur (2011) and Svetlana Kuznetsova (2004) are the lone women looking to get off that list in 2013 by grabbing a second trophy. Kuznetsova made it back to the final in 2007 before falling to Justine Henin. The other one-hit wonders at the Open are Maria Sharapova (2006), Lindsay Davenport (1998), Martina Hingis (1997), Arantxa Sanchez Vicario (1994), Gabriela Sabatini (1990), Hana Mandlikova (1985) and Virginia Wade (1968).

Tell us what you think!

We need your feedback to continue to make great - please take a few minutes to share your thoughts. Just click the link below to get started.

Take the survey »

As a thank you for your participation, you will be entered into a drawing for a chance to win a $100 American Express gift card. These rules apply.

Thanks for visiting today.