Happy Birthday, Notre Dame!

John Rottet/Raleigh News & Observer/MCT/Getty Images

The Notre Dame women's soccer program won its most recent NCAA championship in 2010.

On this day in 1842, the University of Notre Dame was founded in South Bend, Ind. Established by Father Edward Sorin as an all-male Catholic school, buildings were first constructed in 1843 and degrees were first awarded in 1849. Today with more than 11,000 students -- male and female -- the school is known for both its academics and athletics. The Fighting Irish have 23 Division I athletic programs and have won 27 national championships in NCAA history, including three titles by the women’s soccer team (1995, 2004, 2010) and one by the women’s basketball team (2001). Notable alumni include Skylar Diggins, Shannon Boxx, George Gipp, Joe Montana, Paul Hornung, Mike Golic, Manti Te'o, Steve Bartman and, of course, "Rudy" Ruettiger.

Tell us what you think!

We need your feedback to continue to make espnW.com great - please take a few minutes to share your thoughts. Just click the link below to get started.

Take the survey »

As a thank you for your participation, you will be entered into a drawing for a chance to win a $100 American Express gift card. These rules apply.

Thanks for visiting espnW.com today.