Discussion

Officials say they were wrong

Updated: August 17, 2013, 1:10 AM ET
By Mechelle Voepel | espnW.com

PARKER, Colo. -- In her first Solheim Cup, Spain's Carlota Ciganda managed to inadvertently stir up a bit of controversy, all with a wayward second shot.

Europe leads the United States 5-3 after the opening day, but the day didn't "end" until around 10:30 p.m. ET, when the two captains, an assistant captain and two sheepish-looking rules officials explained their take on what had transpired about three hours earlier on the par-5 15th hole.

Ciganda was playing in the first ...

Read full story

Comments

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.


ESPN TOP HEADLINES

MOST SENT STORIES ON ESPN.COM