Simone Biles on U.S. worlds team

HUNTSVILLE, Texas -- New national champion Simone Biles joins Olympic gold medalists McKayla Maroney and Kyla Ross on the U.S. women's team for the world gymnastics championships.

Biles, Maroney, Ross and Brenna Dowell were named to the team Sunday night. The four will represent the United States at the world championships, which begin Sept. 30 in Antwerp, Belgium.

Maroney and Ross were part of the Fierce Five, the U.S. team that won the gold medal at last year's London Olympics. Maroney also was on the U.S. team that won the title at the 2011 world championships, where she won the gold medal on vault. Biles won her first U.S. title last month.

There is no team competition at this year's worlds. Only the all-around and individual events will be contested.

Sponsored Content

Related Content

Tell us what you think!

We need your feedback to continue to make great - please take a few minutes to share your thoughts. Just click the link below to get started.

Take the survey »

As a thank you for your participation, you will be entered into a drawing for a chance to win a $100 American Express gift card. These rules apply.

Thanks for visiting today.