Tuesday, February 25
Award to recognize excellence in sports journalism

Associated Press

MANHASSET, N.Y. -- Dave Anderson of The New York Times and TV commentator Jim McKay are among five nominess for the inaugural Dick Schaap Award for Excellence in Sports Journalism.

They are joined by Dan Jenkins, a writer for Golf Digest and previously Sports Illustrated; TV commentator Jack Whitaker; and Miami Herald sports columnist Edwin Pope.

Schaap's son, ESPN commentator Jeremy Schaap, is chairman of the selection committee. The winner will be announced March 3 and presented by the Nassau County Sports Commission on April 8 at Carle Place on Long Island.

Dick Schaap died in 2001. He was a four-time Emmy winner and his autobiography was the last of 33 books written by him. At the time of his death, he hosted a round-table on ESPN called "The Sports Reporters".

 ESPN Tools
Email story
Most sent
Print story
Daily email