Phil Mickelson weighs in on DQs

January, 26, 2011
01/26/11
8:32
PM ET

The rules violations in recent weeks on both the PGA and European tours are understandably getting a lot of attention, with PGA Tour commissioner Tim Finchem saying this week that he will approach the United States Golf Association about looking at changes that might help players from getting disqualified.

Padraig Harrington was bounced from the Abu Dhabi Championship after a television viewer alerted officials that his ball had moved slightly on the seventh green when he picked up his marker. Harrington was aware he hit the ball but felt it had moved back to its original location. Replays show it moved slightly.

Phil Mickelson is not one who has an answer, although he did have a quip.

"I told Padraig last week when I saw him in the locker room after the incident, I told him how sorry I was that had happened and that how I was even more sorry it was me who called it in," Mickelson said.

"Until I learned it was e-mailed in, and then it kind of threw my game plan.

"I don't know what the solution is there. I don't like how players are getting disqualified when there's no intent in something harmless like that occurs. I don't like that, but I don't know what the solution would be."

Bob Harig covers golf for ESPN.com. He can be reached at BobHarig@gmail.com.

Bob Harig | email

Golf Writer, ESPN.com

SPONSORED HEADLINES

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?