Discussion

PGA rescinds Justin Rose penalty

Updated: May 11, 2014, 5:42 PM ET
By Bob Harig | ESPN.com

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. -- The PGA Tour on Sunday took the unusual step of rescinding the two-stroke penalty it imposed on Justin Rose on Saturday, meaning the Englishman started the final round of the Players Championship five strokes behind the leaders instead of seven.

Rose was docked two strokes late Saturday because his ball was believed to have moved at address behind the 18th green. Under Rule 18-2b, the ball must be replaced, with a one-stroke penalty. Because Rose did not replace ...

Read full story

Comments

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.


MORE GOLF HEADLINES

MOST SENT STORIES ON ESPN.COM