Discussion

Tiger Woods given 2-shot penalty

Updated: September 14, 2013, 10:38 AM ET
By Bob Harig | ESPN.com

LAKE FOREST, Ill. -- Tiger Woods was penalized two strokes following his round Friday at the BMW Championship for an infraction that occurred on the first hole, the third time this year he has been assessed penalty strokes when someone alerted officials to a possible violation.

The penalty was assessed when Woods moved a stick near his ball behind the first green, causing the ball to move. Under Rule 18-2a, that calls for a one-stroke penalty. But because Woods did not replace the ...

Read full story

Comments

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.


ALSO SEE

MORE GOLF HEADLINES