Woods ruling could change Masters
AUGUSTA, Ga. -- Rules officials from golf organizations around the world work at the Masters, most of them assigned various parts of the golf course. But it remains the only major championship that doesn't have a rules official walk with every group.
Even more peculiar is the Masters has the smallest field. With only 93 players this year, there were only 31 groups all four days -- threesomes Thursday and Friday, and twosomes Saturday and Sunday for the 61 players who made the cut.
Could that change in light of the ruling involving Tiger Woods?
He took an incorrect drop on the 15th hole after hitting into the water in the second round. Fred Ridley, chairman of the competition committees, responded to a TV viewer calling in the violation and didn't immediately recognize the mistake based on video evidence. It was only after Woods said in an interview he dropped it 2 yards farther back did Ridley review the tape again. Woods was given a two-shot penalty, but not disqualified. Ridley invoked Rule 33-7, which gives the committee discretion not to disqualify. In this case, he felt Augusta erred by not presenting the evidence to Woods before he signed his card.
Ridley would not say if the Masters would have officials with each group next year. That likely would be up to Masters chairman Billy Payne.
"If there's one thing about the Masters tournament ... we look at everything," Ridley said. "And do that with the competition, so we'll be looking at this situation. What could we do in the future? Is there any different processes we could employ? We look at the entire competition every year and try to get better."
Then again, having a walking official doesn't solve every problem.
The U.S. Open had a walking official with every group in 2001 at Southern Hills when Lee Janzen returned Friday morning to complete the first ground. There was dew near his ball, and he wiped off the area with a towel. Only after the round was over was it discovered he violated Rule 13-2 by removing dew in the area behind or to the side of his ball. Janzen signed for an incorrect scorecard, though he was not disqualified because an official was in his room and didn't notice the violation.
It didn't matter. That two-shot penalty caused him to miss the cut.
Golf Digest magazine wrote on its website about the case of Dow Finsterwald in the 1960 Masters, who discovered in the second round he was not allowed to practice putting at the conclusion of a hole. He had done that in the first round, and the Masters committee chose not to disqualify him, instead adding two shots to his score.
Finsterwald, the 1958 PGA champion, was working at Augusta last week, wearing a blue blazer as he officiated from the first hole.
Copyright 2013 by The Associated Press
MORE GOLF HEADLINES
- Haas pulls away for 1-stroke win at Humana
- Report: Allenby to hold conference Tuesday
- Jimenez rallies for 1-stroke win at Mitsubishi
- D. Johnson to make return at Torrey Pines