Is a Rory career Grand Slam up next?

And how did our scribes rate Tiger's T-11 finish at Kiawah?

Updated: August 13, 2012, 12:54 PM ET
ESPN.com

Talk about a walkover. What didn't Rory McIlroy do in winning his second career major title by the ripe old age of 23?

The Northern Irishman's 8-shot victory Sunday at Kiawah Island's Ocean Course adds a PGA Championship to his 2011 U.S. Open triumph. Can a career Grand Slam be far off?

Our experts analyze all that and more in our final edition of PGA Championship Four-Ball.


1. How did Rory McIlroy win the PGA Championship?


Michael Collins, ESPN.com senior golf analyst: The man had 24 putts on Sunday. That's called grabbing it by the throat. And he did it without a belly putter or a long putter. So much for that "unfair advantage" debate. For the week, he hit 66.7 percent of his greens (T-13), but he started Sunday morning tied with Vijay Singh and ended the third round with a 3-shot lead. That putter, along with nerves of steel, won Rory McIlroy his second major.

Farrell Evans, ESPN.com senior golf writer: Rory McIlroy was masterful in every aspect of his game. It was reminiscent of his performance at Congressional last year, with the exception of the second-round 75 at Kiawah Island's Ocean Course.

Bob Harig, ESPN.com senior golf writer: With an amazing short game. McIlroy took advantage of his length for sure, but, in the final round, he missed eight greens and got up and down each time. Letting a few of those pars get away, especially three on the front nine, could have made things interesting. But he put the tournament away by avoiding bogeys.

Gene Wojciechowski, ESPN.com senior national columnist: He did at Kiawah Island and the PGA what he did at Congressional and the U.S. Open in 2011: He overwhelmed the field. All you need to know is this: Someone asked McIlroy whether he had a weakness this week. He said no.


2. Over/under: Rory McIlroy will achieve the career Grand Slam before his 30th birthday.


Michael Collins: He's got seven years to win two tournaments -- the Masters and the Open Championship. I'd have to say he'll have the career Grand Slam before his 28th birthday … easily. You think he can't have another performance at Augusta like 2011 but with a better closing back nine? You'd be crazy to think so. That gives him five chances at the Open Championship. I'll take that bet any day, too.

Farrell Evans: I'm not a gambler, but I would be shocked if McIlroy didn't earn at least one Open Championship and a Masters in the next four years. By 30, he could have 10 majors.

Bob Harig: Over. Although he will have six cracks apiece at the Masters and Open Championship before he turns 30 to complete the career Grand Slam, we should never assume any player is going to do that. It's a tough feat, and McIlroy has so far not shown a real liking for the Open.

Gene Wojciechowski: I'll take the under. He'll get a Masters next. The Open Championship might be the toughie.


3. What grade would you give Tiger Woods for his T-11 finish at Kiawah Island?


Michael Collins: C. I'd give him an A for the first two rounds and an F for the weekend. Perfect conditions Sunday, and the guy who's supposed to be the best of all time shoots 74-72. You know that's not up to his standards and will just cause more questions as to what's wrong.

Farrell Evans: B. Tiger bogeyed both par-5s on the back nine Sunday. For that alone, he's got to be kicking himself. Tiger's 74-72 on the weekend, when McIlroy shot 67-66, is pretty mediocre. For almost anybody, a T-11 is a good major, but, for Tiger, it's got to be very disappointing.

Bob Harig: B-. Overall, Woods played well. He putted beautifully the first two rounds and played the final 27 holes in a respectable 2 under. But he killed his chances with the front-nine 40 in the third round, then couldn't make enough birdies the rest of the way. For the third straight major, he gave himself a chance but wasn't really a factor at the end.

Gene Wojciechowski: A solid B. Still hasn't figured out a way to make a weekend move at a major. Then again, not sure it would have mattered this week.


4. Carl Pettersson received a 2-shot penalty on the first hole Sunday for moving a loose impediment in a hazard. Good call or time to change the rule?


Michael Collins: Definitely time to change the rule. For a professional golfer, the swing should be considered starting on the backswing not the downswing in a hazard. I understand trying to protect the field with the rules, but, when all the other contestants feel as though that wasn't a fair penalty, you're not protecting them, you're being old and obscure.

Farrell Evans: Some rules were made to be amended or killed all together, but this one is pretty clear. Pettersson needed to be a little more careful in that hazard.

Bob Harig: It's a tough rule, but how do you change it? The idea is to keep a player from moving impediments out of his swing path on the way back so they are not there on the downswing. Certainly it seems ludicrous that it was a leaf that moved. But how do you differentiate?

Gene Wojciechowski: I was there when it happened. Odd rule. Tough penalty. Absolutely time to reassess that rule.