Eliminate all but Harris English

To some, the PGA Championship marks their last shot to win a major this year. A victory at Oak Hill could single-handedly turn a poor season into a great one. All it takes is a major victory.

For others, it represents the last chance to pick a winner. And where else to pick up The Eliminator's second career win (thank you, Rory McIlroy) than in my homeland of upstate New York?

Yes, add me to the list of pickers and prognosticators this weekend, but I'll do things a little differently. While many browse through some stats, go with a hunch or simply pick Tiger Woods, I have my own method.

We'll see 156 golfers teeing it up Thursday, and I'll come up with reasons that 155 of them cannot hoist the trophy come Sunday evening using a series of statistics and historical trends. The only golfer left standing when the dust clears, in theory, is the champion. I call it The Eliminator.

My success rate this year? Three made cuts, but it's all for naught when you're just trying to pick winners, and I have none in 2013. Sounds like I'm due.

There are 156 golfers in the field, and I know you're all busy people, so I'm going to get rid of more than 80 percent of them with this little nugget. In every year since the WGC-Bridgestone was moved to the week before the PGA Championship, starting in 2007, the eventual PGA winner finished 22nd or better at the Bridgestone.

That not-so-gently takes out 130 golfers, including top-10 players such as McIlroy, Matt Kuchar, Graeme McDowell and Brandt Snedeker.

I'll let the dust settle before telling you that eight of the past nine PGA Championship winners had a previous PGA Tour win that season. The slash-and-burn method continues, as 18 of the remaining 26 go by the wayside. And yes, that includes favorites such as Keegan Bradley, Luke Donald and Steve Stricker.

What do the past three PGA Championship winners have in common? Well, Martin Kaymer, Bradley and McIlroy were all 25 or younger when they won. It's quite the opposite of the Open Championship, where the past three winners have been 42 or older.

But we're picking the PGA here. Looking at the final eight, seven of those golfers are older than 25, including four of the top five players in the world: Woods, Phil Mickelson, Justin Rose and Adam Scott.

So, we're down to one, and it's a golfer with a win and eight top-25 finishes this season who is coming off three straight top-15 finishes. The credentials are there, if not the name value. But expect to know his name by Sunday afternoon.

The Eliminator likes Harris English to win this weekend. Remember, the numbers don't lie.

The Eliminator step-by-step:

1. The past six PGA Championship winners finished at least 22nd at the WGC-Bridgestone.
130 eliminated, 26 remaining
Golfers eliminated:
J.C. Anderson
Kiradech Aphibarnrat
Woody Austin
Sang-Moon Bae
Daniel Balin
Rich Beem
Charlie Beljan
Thomas Bjorn
Jonas Blixt
Mark Brooks
Mark Brown
Scott Brown
Angel Cabrera
Rafael Cabrera-Bello
Paul Casey
Roberto Castro
Kevin Chappell
K.J. Choi
Stewart Cink
Tim Clark
Darren Clarke
George Coetzee
Nicolas Colsaerts
Ben Curtis
Jason Day
Brendon de Jonge
Graham DeLaet
Ken Duke
Ernie Els
Derek Ernst
Matt Every
Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano
Caine Fitzgerald
Marcus Fraser
Hiroyuki Fujita
Tommy Gainey
Stephen Gallacher
Sergio Garcia
Robert Garrigus
Bob Gaus
Brian Gay
Lucas Glover
Branden Grace
Luke Guthrie
Kirk Hanefeld
Peter Hanson
Padraig Harrington
David Hearn
Russell Henley
Charley Hoffman
Billy Horschel
Charles Howell III
John Huh
Kohki Idoki
Mikko Ilonen
Ryo Ishikawa
Freddie Jacobson
Thongchai Jaidee
Scott Jamieson
Dustin Johnson
Matt Jones
Chris Kirk
Brooks Koepka
Jason Kokrak
Matt Kuchar
Rob Labritz
Martin Laird
Pablo Larrazabal
Paul Lawrie
Marc Leishman
David Lingmerth
Davis Love III
Shane Lowry
Joost Luiten
David Lynn
Hunter Mahan
Matteo Manassero
Jeff Martin
Graeme McDowell
Paul McGinley
Rory McIlroy
David McNabb
Shaun Micheel
Francesco Molinari
Ryan Moore
David Muttitt
Alexander Noren
Geoff Ogilvy
Thorbjorn Olesen
Ryan Palmer
Rod Perry
Carl Pettersson
Scott Piercy
D.A. Points
Ryan Polzin
Richie Ramsay
Lee Rhind
Brett Rumford
John Senden
Mark Sheftic
Marcel Siem
Vijay Singh
Sonny Skinner
Mike Small
Stuart Smith
Brandt Snedeker
Jeff Sorenson
Bob Sowards
Jordan Spieth
Kevin Stadler
Scott Stallings
Kyle Stanley
Kevin Streelman
Chris Stroud
Chip Sullivan
Josh Teater
David Toms
Peter Uihlein
Jaco Van Zyl
Jimmy Walker
Marc Warren
Nick Watney
Bubba Watson
Tom Watson
Boo Weekley
Lee Westwood
Bernd Wiesberger
Danny Willett
Gary Woodland
Y.E. Yang

2. Eight of the past nine PGA Championship winners had a PGA Tour win earlier that season.
18 eliminated, 8 remaining

Golfers eliminated:
Keegan Bradley
Luke Donald
Jamie Donaldson
Jason Dufner
Rickie Fowler
Jim Furyk
Miguel Angel Jimenez
Zach Johnson
Martin Kaymer
Hideki Matsuyama
Ian Poulter
Charl Schwartzel
Webb Simpson
Henrik Stenson
Richard Sterne
Steve Stricker
Bo Van Pelt
Chris Wood

3. The past three PGA Championship winners were all 25 or younger.
7 eliminated, 1 remaining

Golfers eliminated:
Bill Haas
John Merrick
Phil Mickelson
Justin Rose
Adam Scott
Michael Thompson
Tiger Woods

Your winner: Harris English