Diana M. Murphy named second female president of USGA

For just the second time in United States Golf Association's 121-year history, the governing body elected a woman to lead the organization Saturday, when Diana M. Murphy became the group's 64th president.

Murphy replaces Thomas J. O'Toole, who had been president for the past two years.

"Although golf will always face challenges, the great golfers -- such as Bob Jones, Ben Hogan, Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus and my dear friend Louise Suggs -- had one trait in common: They were optimistic about their games and the game," Murphy said in a statement. "It is a time for all of us, together, to be positive about golf and act accordingly."

In 1996, Judy Bell became the first woman elected president of the USGA.

Murphy, who started with the USGA in 1996, earned her undergraduate degree in journalism in 1978 from West Virginia University and also has an advanced executive business degree from Northwestern.

The USGA administers the Rules of Golf for the United States and Mexico, while the R&A covers the rest of the world.