No suspension for Clayton Kershaw?
LOS ANGELES -- Los Angeles Dodgers left-hander Clayton Kershaw isn't expected to be suspended by Major League Baseball for hitting Arizona Diamondbacks left fielder Gerardo Parra in the right elbow, a source said Thursday night on condition of anonymity.
More on the Dodgers
For more news, notes and analysis of the Dodgers, check out ESPNLA's Dodgers Report. Blog
Kershaw, who was ejected Wednesday night, will be fined, but it is possible it won't exceed the requisite $500 that automatically accompanies any ejection.
Kershaw was immediately tossed by plate umpire Bill Welke after he hit Parra, whom Kershaw had yelled at from the Dodgers' dugout the previous night when Parra stood and admired his seventh-inning home run against reliever Hong-Chih Kuo.
Kuo's first pitch of that at-bat had been at Parra's head, but Kuo has battled control problems all season, even spending six weeks on the disabled list because of them.
Both benches were warned after that incident Tuesday night, and both managers received a phone call from former Dodgers manager Joe Torre, who now oversees on-field discipline for Major League Baseball, in advance of Wednesday night's game.
No additional warning had been issued by the umpires before Kershaw was ejected.
Tony Jackson covers the Dodgers for ESPNLosAngeles.com.