Discussion

Ref blunder leads to 2-goal swing

Updated: November 16, 2010, 1:22 AM ET
Associated Press

SAN JOSE, Calif. -- A refereeing mistake led to a two-goal swing in the Los Angeles Kings' game against the San Jose Sharks.

With San Jose leading 3-1 late in the second period Monday night, the officials failed to see Ryan Smyth had clearly scored for the Kings. San Jose's Marc-Edouard Vlasic retrieved the puck from inside the net, and the officials allowed play to continue while Smyth and his teammates briefly celebrated.

The teams kept playing until Torrey Mitchell scored a breakaway ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

EDITORS' PICKS

  • Season Finished For Richards
    Garrett Richards will undergo surgery next week and miss six to nine months after suffering a torn left patellar tendon.

MORE NHL HEADLINES