Matt Cain to face Justin Verlander

Updated: July 9, 2012, 9:32 PM ET news services

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Detroit's Justin Verlander will start for the American League in Tuesday night's All-Star Game against San Francisco's Matt Cain.

As the All-Stars return to Kansas City for the first time since 1973, the AL's batting order has Derek Jeter leading off and playing shortstop, followed by Yankees teammate Robinson Cano at second base, Texas left fielder Josh Hamilton, Toronto right fielder Jose Bautista, Detroit first baseman Prince Fielder, Texas third baseman Adrian Beltre, Boston designated hitter David Ortiz, Texas catcher Mike Napoli and Yankees center fielder Curtis Granderson.

The NL has Colorado's Carlos Gonzalez leading off as the DH, followed by San Francisco center fielder Melky Cabrera, Milwaukee left fielder Ryan Braun, Cincinnati first baseman Joey Votto, St. Louis right fielder Carlos Beltran, Giants catcher Buster Posey, San Francisco third baseman Pablo Sandoval, Atlanta second baseman Dan Uggla and St. Louis shortstop Rafael Furcal.

Braun, who finished fourth in NL outfielder voting, takes the place of the Dodgers' Matt Kemp, on the disabled list because of a strained left hamstring.

Verlander, the reigning AL MVP and Cy Young Award winner, is 9-5 with a 2.58 ERA. He is the first All-Star starter who has won Rookie of the Year, Cy Young and MVP awards.

Cain, 9-3 with a 2.62 ERA, pitched a perfect game against Houston on June 13. He was picked over the Mets' R.A. Dickey, who is 12-1 but throws a knuckleball that could pose a challenge for Posey.

The last time each starting pitcher in an All-Star Game had fewer than 10 wins in a non-shortened season was 1993, when Mark Langston (9-3) opposed Terry Mulholland (9-6).

Cain looks to give San Francisco All-Star Game bragging rights over the rival Dodgers. Since both teams moved to the West Coast in 1958, they've each had six pitchers win an All-Star Game, the most in the majors. Comparatively, the Yankees have won 10 championships over that stretch, but never had a pitcher win the All-Star Game.

Accoring to Elias Sports Bureau, Verlander will be only the second AL pitcher to start the All-Star Game after winning the Cy Young the previous season. The only other AL pitcher to do that was Jim Palmer, who started the 1977 game after winning the Cy Young in 1976.

Information from The Associated Press and ESPN Stats & Info was used in this report.