Awards named after retired closers

Updated: April 9, 2014, 6:00 PM ET
ESPN.com news services

Mariano Rivera and Trevor Hoffman both put their names in the baseball record books. Now, Major League Baseball is putting their names on a new pair of awards.

Top relievers in each league will now be given either the Mariano Rivera American League Reliever of the Year Award or the Trevor Hoffman National League Reliever of the Year Award.

Both retired closers spent their entire careers in just one league -- Rivera pitched 19 seasons with the New York Yankees, and Hoffman ...

Read full story


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.