Discussion

What if … Denkinger hadn't blown the call?

Updated: October 24, 2008, 9:09 PM ET
By Rob Neyer | ESPN.com

GAME 6, 1985 WORLD SERIES

What really happened: With the Royals trailing 1-0 in the bottom of the ninth, leadoff man Jorge Orta slapped a routine grounder to first baseman Jack Clark, who made the toss to pitcher Todd Worrell in time to retire Orta by half a step. Or so everyone thought, except first-base umpire Don Denkinger, who called Orta safe and wasn't about to change his mind. Two defensive misplays and two line-drive singles later, the Royals had scored the winning run, and they ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

MORE MLB HEADLINES