Umpires admit second missed World Series call in as many games

Updated: October 27, 2008, 11:36 PM ET
Associated Press

PHILADELPHIA -- For the second time in two days, umpires acknowledged they missed a key call in the World Series.

The Philadelphia Phillies scored in the first inning of Game 4 on Sunday night after Jimmy Rollins scampered safely back to third during a rundown. But television replays showed he was tagged on the backside by Tampa Bay's Evan Longoria and should have been called out by third base ump Tim Welke.

"He's seen the replay. He knows he missed it," Mike Port, Major League ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?