Silver Slugger Awards announced

Updated: November 2, 2011, 11:30 PM ET
ESPN.com news services

Three Boston Red Sox players headlined this year's Silver Slugger Awards, which were distributed Thursday to the best offensive players at every position in each league.

Winning from the Red Sox were first baseman Adrian Gonzalez, outfielder Jacoby Ellsbury and designated hitter David Ortiz, who won the award for the fifth time -- but first since 2007 -- after batting .309 with 29 home runs and 96 RBIs.

It was the first honor for both Gonzalez and Ellsbury.

The New York Yankees, ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?