David Price wins AL Cy Young

Updated: November 14, 2012, 9:19 PM ET
ESPN.com news services

NEW YORK -- David Price of the Tampa Bay Rays won the AL Cy Young Award on Wednesday in one of the closest votes ever.

Price beat out 2011 winner Justin Verlander by only four points in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Other than a 1969 tie between Mike Cuellar and Denny McLain, it was the tightest race in the history of the AL award.

Runner-up two years ago, Price was the pick this time by the slimmest of margins. He received 14 of 28 first-place ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?