Union votes Howard player of year, Pujols man of year

NEW YORK -- Philadelphia's Ryan Howard was voted major-league player of the year by members of the players' association Wednesday, and Albert Pujols of the St. Louis Cardinals was voted Marvin Miller Man of the Year.

Florida's Miguel Cabrera was voted NL outstanding player, and Jermaine Dye of the Chicago White Sox was the AL choice.

The Twins' Johan Santana and the Cardinals' Chris Carpenter won pitching awards, Detroit's Justin Verlander and Florida's Dan Uggla earned comeback awards and Oakland's Frank Thomas and the Dodgers' Nomar Garciaparra won comeback honors.