Silver Slugger Awards announced

Three Boston Red Sox players headlined this year's Silver Slugger Awards, which were distributed Thursday to the best offensive players at every position in each league.

Winning from the Red Sox were first baseman Adrian Gonzalez, outfielder Jacoby Ellsbury and designated hitter David Ortiz, who won the award for the fifth time -- but first since 2007 -- after batting .309 with 29 home runs and 96 RBIs.

It was the first honor for both Gonzalez and Ellsbury.

The New York Yankees, Arizona Diamondbacks and Milwaukee Brewers all had a pair of Silver Sluggers.

Second baseman Robinson Cano and outfielder Curtis Granderson represented the Yankees, while outfielder Justin Upton and pitcher Daniel Hudson of the Diamondbacks also won.

It was Cano's third Silver Slugger and first for the others.

Brewers outfielder Ryan Braun won his fourth award while first baseman Prince Fielder won his second.

Atlanta Braves catcher Brian McCann was a fifth-time recipeint, and Texas Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre won for the fourth time.

Toronto Blue Jays outfielder Jose Bautista, Colorado Rockies shortstop Troy Tulowitzki and Los Angeles Dodgers outfielder Matt Kemp earned their second awards.

Winning for the first time were Cleveland Indians shortstop Asdrubal Cabrera, Detroit Tigers catcher Alex Avila, Cincinnati Reds second baseman Brandon Phillips and Chicago Cubs third baseman Aramis Ramirez.

The Silver Slugger Awards are voted on by coaches and managers from both leagues, and voters can not reward players on their own team.