Kirby Lee/USA TODAY Sports

Women's X-Country

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. -- A team full of Michigan natives gave Michigan State its first NCAA team championship in any women's sport Saturday.

The top-ranked Spartans dominated the field with four runners in the top 25, posting a score of 85 to hold off a solid effort by second-place Iowa State (147). New Mexico was third, edging No. 2 Georgetown by a point.

Bringing home the university's first title in the women's side of the sport was something coach Walt Drenth has been building up to since taking over the women's program in 2006.

-- Craig Pearson, | Full story

2015 NCAA championship information

WHEN: Nov. 21

WHERE: E.P. Tom Sawyer State Park (Louisville , Ky.)

2014 CHAMPION: Michigan State | Kate Avery, Iona

MOST TITLES: Villanova, 9

HISTORY:Past Division I Champions