NCAA honors Wooden, Bayh with Ford Award

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA named former UCLA men's basketball coach John Wooden and former U.S. Sen. Birch Bayh as co-winners of its Gerald R. Ford Award on Monday.

The NCAA presents the award to people who provide significant
leadership in advocating intercollegiate athletics on a continuous
basis. Wooden and Bayh will receive their awards Jan. 7, at the
NCAA convention in Indianapolis. The NCAA will donate an honorarium
to the institution of their choice for the benefit of

"Both Senator Bayh's creation of Title IX and Coach Wooden's unprecedented coaching accomplishments based on sound principles of scholarship and citizenship have positively impacted the college sports world," NCAA President Myles Brand said.

Wooden led the Bruins to a record 10 national championships during the 1960s and 1970s, including seven straight from 1967-73, and was renown for his philosophy "The Pyramid of Success." He was a three-time All-American at Purdue and is one of only two men in the Basketball Hall of Fame as both a player and coach.

Wooden coached four unbeaten teams at UCLA and set records for most Final Four appearances (12), most consecutive Final Fours (9), and most Final Four wins (21). From 1971-73, his teams won 88 straight games.

Bayh is referred to as the "Father of Title IX" for a bill he
co-authored in 1972. That bill helped set a precedent for funding
women's athletics.

The Democrat was born in Terre Haute, Ind., graduated from Purdue in 1951 and earned a law degree from Indiana University in 1960. He served in the Indiana House of Representatives from
1954-62 and three terms in the U.S. Senate, from 1962-80. He
authored two amendments to the U.S. Constitution as a senator.