George rushes into Ohio State Hall of Fame

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- Heisman Trophy winner Eddie George was one of 12 Ohio State alumni to be selected for the school's Athletics Hall of Fame, the school said Thursday.

George, a Buckeyes running back from 1992 to 1995 and the Big Ten's most valuable player in 1995, will be inducted Sept. 15 and honored the following day at halftime of the Cincinnati-Ohio State game at Ohio Stadium.

George set Ohio State's single-game rushing record with 314 yards vs. Illinois in 1995 and ended his collegiate career as the Buckeyes' second leading all-time rusher. He was a first-round draft choice by the Houston Oilers and NFL rookie of the year in 1996.

Six other men and five women selected by the Ohio State Varsity "O" Association will also be inducted. In all, 293 athletes have entered the university's hall of fame since 1977.

The other 2006 inductees are: Kevin Atkins, track and field; Alex Eckelman, baseball; Kate Hedman, swimming; Annette Kraml, rifle; Donica Merriman, track; Ron Nischwitz, baseball; Ted Provost, football; Kip Simons, gymnastics; Patricia
Szelle, fencing; and Lindsey Vagades, gymnastics.