Wooden Award to be given Friday

LOS ANGELES -- Tyler Hansbrough has a chance to repeat as the John R. Wooden Award winner.

The North Carolina senior, DeJuan Blair and Blake Griffin were named finalists Monday for the award given to the men's college basketball player of the year.

Maya Moore of Connecticut and Courtney Paris of Oklahoma were selected as finalists for the women's award. The winners will be announced Friday at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

Hansbrough and North Carolina were set to play Michigan State for the national championship Monday night in Detroit.

Moore and her UConn teammates will play Louisville Cardinals for the women's national title Tuesday night in St. Louis.

Hansbrough, the 2008 winner, averaged 20.8 points and 8.2 rebounds this season for North Carolina, while shooting 85 percent from the free throw line.

Blair, of Pittsburgh, averaged 15.7 points, 12.3 rebounds and shot 59 percent from the field for the Panthers, who reached the final eight of the NCAA tournament.

Griffin, of Oklahoma, averaged 22.4 points and 14.4 rebounds and shot 65 percent from the floor for the Sooners, who also advanced to the final eight.

Moore averages 21 points, 8.7 rebounds, 2.0 steals and 2.3 blocks for the Huskies. She was MVP of the Trenton Regional last week.

Paris averaged 15.9 points and 13.6 rebounds while shooting 57 percent from the floor and leading the Sooners to the second Final Four appearance of her four-year career.